Skip navigation

I am often told that Arch Linux sucks, Arch is useful because it categorizes idiots (“I like arch” proves you are an idiot), etc. So I caved in and tried OpenBSD. Well, here’s my experience, compared to Arch:

– Much slower boot.
– Worse package management. Searching is absurdly slow (no local db), no listing of deps and size to dl/install when installing something (Edit: You can show the “signature” with deps with pkg_info -S, but it’s not as nice as Arch’s listing and downloaded/installed size summary), essential packages like terminus missing…
– Chromium and flashplugin each require tedious manual configuration to run. (Edit: flashplugin actually isn’t supported at all now)
– Surf wouldn’t compile because make somehow didn’t use the variables from config.mk. (I’ve heard you have to use gmake, “make” is BSD retard-make)
– Poor VirtualBox guest support.
– Less hardware support, CPUs aside.
– No FUSE support, and hence no ntfs-3g or sshfs.
– No support for NVIDIA’s proprietary video drivers, and hence no VDPAU.

Contrary to the rampant prejudice, I almost never have any problems with Arch. Switching to OpenBSD only seems like a step back.

2 Comments

  1. That’s because you didn’t read the goals of OpenBSD. Some points:

    – slower boot: who cares? Do you boot more than once a day? I don’t.
    – tried to read the man pages? with “pkg_info -S package/name” you get the signature of each package, i.e. all dependencies.
    – again, did you read at all the official site?
    – flashplugin is not supported in months. Again: official site.
    – no virtualbox guest is a virtualbox matter, amirite?
    – you just can’t have the latest hardware. that’s all. if you want something, you can port it. 😉
    – no fuse support? I’m glad.
    – you didn’t actually read anything, right? OpenBSD does not allow proprietary drivers/programs. The point of OpenBSD is that you have an operating system with all it’s packages and you are able to read the code. You can’t have a proprietary program with security holes and not be able to patch it.

    Sorry if I sound offensive, but the thing is that you cannot bash ( 😉 ) an OS when you didn’t even read the man pages.

    p.s. give OpenBSD one more chance. Do some research and you might like it as I saw you do not like this copyleft-copyright stuff and this OS is not a part of this. 😉

  2. “no virtualbox guest is a virtualbox matter, amirite?”

    Yes, but regardless of whose fault it is, it affects me as a user. On my main desktop use a Win7 host and *nix in vbox so I can switch out of vbox play my games without rebooting. This works way better with Arch, because it’s supported better in vbox. The obsd support is poor because so few use it. (little demand)

    “no fuse support? I’m glad.”

    Well, I’m not.. sshfs is quite useful.

    “you didn’t actually read anything, right? OpenBSD does not allow proprietary drivers/programs. The point of OpenBSD is that you have an operating system with all it’s packages and you are able to read the code. You can’t have a proprietary program with security holes and not be able to patch it”

    I don’t need or want the proprietary driver to be included in OpenBSD, I just want to be able to install it separately. VDPAU is brilliant because it allows even a modest box to play 1080p. NVIDIA don’t support obsd because the desktop market share is close to zero.

    You have failed to convince me. The only point you proved wrong is my package info gripe. The rest of my points remain correct. I don’t like copyleft but I’m pragmatic; Arch is much more practical for my use.


Leave a Reply

